Research, Creative Activities & Innovation > Research Highlights > Awards & Distinctions

Awards & Distinctions

​​​​​Faculty are essential to research at DePaul; they are passionate artists, scholars, scientists, leaders, mentors and innovators. Here, we acknowledge the awards, recognitions and distinctions of some of our most distinguished faculty members—respected leaders and innovators within our campus community and in their disciplines. Their work, with a relentless focus on the greater good, invigorates intellectual inquiry, fuels discovery, and strengthens the teaching and learning environment of the University.


NSF Career Awards are the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization. Activities pursued by early-career faculty should build a firm foundation for a lifetime of leadership in integrating education and research.

2021 Recipients

Isuru Godage
, College of Computing and Digital Media

CAREER: Transformable and Reconfigurable Soft Robots

Soft Robotics: Bend Them, Shake Them, Anyway You Want Them​

2019 Recipients

Past Recipients

Sarah Elwood, Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Jane Huang, College of Computing and Digital Media

James Riely, College of Computing and Digital Media

Quinetta Shelby, College of Science and Health

Fulbright Scholar Award

The Fulbright Scholar Program is one of the most widely recognized and prestigious international exchange programs in the world; it promotes and recognizes the critical relationship between educational exchange and international understanding. The program grants approximately 470 teaching, research or combination teaching and research awards in over 125 countries. Exchange opportunities are available for students.

Current Faculty/Staff Recipients

Student Recipients

A list of past student recipients for the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences can be found here.

DePaul Spirit of Inquiry Award

In support of the University’s belief that the quest for knowledge is the foundation upon which the idea of a university rests, and the purpose that unites both teacher and student, the University Research Council (URC) makes annual DePaul University Spirit of Inquiry Awards. The Awards honor specific research, scholarly or creative achievements that exhibit commitment to that spirit of creative inquiry, which we endeavor to inspire in our students.


  • Brian Andrews, College of Computing and Digital Media
  • Helen LaVan, Driehaus College of Business

Spirit of DePaul Award

The Spirit of DePaul Award was instituted during DePaul's Centennial celebration to highlight institutional Vincentian Values and their relation to the achievement of DePaul's mission. The award also seeks to personally honor and recognize diverse members of the DePaul Community for their leadership and service in the spirit of Saint Vincent de Paul.


  • Kim Amer, College of Science and Health
  • Nandhini Gulasingam, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
  • Misty Johanson, Driehaus College of Business
  • Grace Lemmon, Driehaus College of Business
  • Amanda Powers Snowden, Career Center
  • Tania Rodriguez, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

View past recipients

Additional Faculty Awards and Distinctions

  • Dr. Jalene LaMontagne, Associate Professor in the College of Science and Health  and Abigail Leeper (a Double-Demon with a BS and MS in Biological Sciences) were given the Manierre Award by the Huron Mountain Wildlife Foundation in August 2021, in recognition of their research in the Huron Mountains that led to two recent peer-reviewed publications.
  • Dr. Yujong Hwang, Associate Professor in the School of Accountancy & MIS, has been recognized as a "Distinguished Member – Cum Laude" by the Association of Information Systems (AIS). This significant distinction is based on her research in the AIS journals and the service to the AIS in the leadership roles. AIS is the world's leading IS society with a current membership of over 4,500 members, but only 100 have been designated as Distinguished Members – Cum Laude.
  • Rebecca Michel, College of Education Associate Professor Rebecca Michel has been awarded The National Career Development Association's Diversity Initiative AwardLearn More.
  • Lourdes Torres, the Vincent de Paul Professor of Latin American Studies and Latino Studies, has been named a recipient of the 2021 Frank Bonilla Public Intellectual Award. Learn More​.
  • Dorothy Kozlowski, College of Science and Health Professor Dorothy Kozlowski has received the Chicago Society for Neuroscience 2020-2021 Career Achievement Award.  Learn More​.
  • ​Elizabeth A. Murphy, Professor emerita in the School of Accountancy, has received the Illinois CPA Society’s prestigious 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award. Learn more.
  • Jennifer Rosato Perea, Dean for DePaul's College of Law, has received The Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois 2020 Aguila Award. Learn more.
  • Craig Klugman, Professor of Bioethics and Health Humanities in the College of Science and Health, has been named to the National Biodefense Science Board. Learn more.
  • College of Science and Health’s Ruben Parra, Professor of Computational Chemistry, named a fellow of the The Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities Leadership Academy/ La Academia de Liderazgo. Learn more.
  • College of Business Kelly Chu has been honored by the American Academy of Advertising with the Billy I. Ross Advertising Education Award. Learn more. 
  • The Theatre School’s Alden J. Vaszquez wins Stage Managers’ Association’s Del Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in the Art of Stage Management. Learn more.
  • AGIF-Funded faculty, Carolyn Bronstein, Vincent de Paul Professor of Communication, John Klein in the College of Computing and Digital Media, and Judith McCray in the College of Communication win a 2020 Gold Telly Award. Learn more.
  • Business Professors LaVan and Ciecka Reach 50th Anniversaries on Faculty. Learn more.

Be Featured

If you have been presented with an award or a distinction for your research or creative activity and would like to be featured on this site, please complete and submit our Research and Creative Activity Submission Form.

Fill out the form