Liberal Studies Program > About > Administration


Liberal Studies Program Director
  John Shanahan PhD
  990 W. Fullerton Ave., Suite 4209

Liberal Studies Program Coordinator
  Celia DeBoer
  990 W. Fullerton Ave., Suite 4201

Liberal Studies Council

As a standing committee of the Faculty Council, the Liberal Studies Council (LSC) serves as the governing body of the Liberal Studies Program. The LSC's composition includes faculty, proportionately represented from each of the various undergraduate colleges in the university, and four ex-officio members - the LSP Director who chairs the LSC and one representative each from Academic Affairs, the Honors Program, and Student Affairs. The LSC considers all new proposals affecting LSP curriculum and policy, which must then receive further approval from Faculty Council and Academic Affairs, before taking effect.

College Member Unit Term Ends
BUS Zafar Iqbal Marketing 2020
BUS Nick Thomas Hospitality 2020
BUS Vahap Uysal Finance 2021
BUS (alt.) Suzanne Fogel Marketing 2020
BUS (alt.) Stephen Koernig Marketing 2022
CDM Ronald Eltanal Digital Cinema 2020
CDM  Marcus Schaefer Computing 2021
CDM (alt.) Brian Andrews Cinematic Arts 2022
CDM (alt.) Ljubomir Perkovic Computing 2020
CMN Jay Baglia CMN 2021
CMN (alt.) Kendra Knight CMN 2020
CMN (alt.) Leah Bryant CMN 2020
CoE Alexandra Novakovic Counseling 2022
CoE (alt.) Vacant
CSH Yevgenia Kashina Math 2022
CSH Jocelyn Carter Psychology 2020
CSH (alt.) Vacant
CSH (alt.) David Sher Math 2022
LAS Richard Squibbs English 2022
LAS Wayne Steger Policitcal Science 2021
LAS  Valentina Tikoff History  2022
LAS (alt.) Sungsoon (Julie) Hwang Geography 2020
LAS (alt.) Robert Stokes Public Service 2022
MUS Vacant  
MUS (alt.) Kate Brucher Composition 2020
SCPS Vacant
SCPS (alt.) Arieahn Matamonasa-Bennett SCPS 2020
THE Jeff Mills Performance 2021
THE (alt.) Deanna Aliosius Costume Technology 2020
LSC Chair John Shanahan LSP Director ex-officio
Academic Affairs Caryn Chaden Associate Provost ex-officio
Student Affairs Rico Tyler AVP of Student Affairs ex-officio
Honors Program Martha Martinez-Firestone Honors Program Director ex-officio


Current LSC Membership


LSP Advisory Committees

The Unit Advisory Chairs of the Liberal Studies Program each represent one of the 13 unit areas of the LSP (i.e., seven core courses & six learning domain areas). Advisory Chairs oversee committees, largely comprised of faculty (and some staff), who teach in their relevant unit areas. Advisory committee responsibilities include looking at new course proposals and drafting feedback on them, conducting annual assessments, reviewing syllabi, and sponsoring workshops and retreats to help develop both new and veteran instructors teaching in their LSP unit area.

The First-Year Program Office administers the Chicago Quarter Program and Focal Point Seminar. It is responsible for the enrollment of students in their CQ courses, as well as coordinating the scheduling of CQ and FPS courses. The Director of the First-Year Writing Program oversees curriculum and administration of writing requirements, and the Director of the Quantitative Reasoning Program cooperatively administers the curriculum and course issues associated with the Quantitative Reasoning and Technological Literacy courses.

If you are a DePaul Faculty member interested in serving on an LSP advisory committee, please fill out the LSP Committee Interest form.

Committee Chair Unit College Term End
Chicago Quarter Leah Bryant CMN CMN 2021
Focal Point Seminar Scott Paeth REL LAS 2020
First Year Writing Erin Workman WRD LAS 2021
Quantitative Reasoning & Technological Literacy David Jabon (co-chair) QRC CSH 2021
Quantitative Reasoning & Technological Literacy MJ Davidson (co-chair) CDM CDM 2021
U.S. Multiculturalism Seminar (LSP 200) Kate Brucher MUS MUS 2019
Experiential Learning Shayna Connelly CDM CDM 2021
Senior Capstone Alec Brownlow GEO LAS 2021
Arts & Literature Jeff Carter AMD LAS 2020
Philosophical Inquiry Sean Kirkland PHL LAS 2020
Religious Dimensions Chris Mount REL LAS 2020
Scientific Inquiry Mark Potosnak ENV CSH 2020
Social, Cultural, & Behavioral Inquiry Michael DeAngelis CMN CMN 2020
Understanding the Past Lisa Sigel HST LAS 2019

LSP Advisory Committee Membership

 ​ ​​​​​
Chicago Quarter​ Committee
​Member ​Unit ​College ​Term End
​Leah Bryant Chair ​CMN ​CMN ​2021
​Rebecca Cameron ​ENG ​LAS ​​2020
​Colleen Doody ​HST ​LAS ​2021
Melissa Markley MKT ​BUS 2021​
James Montgomery​ ​CSH ​CSH ​2020
​Karl Nass ​UMIN ​n/a ​​2019
​Jason Kalin WRD​ LAS 2019​
Doug Long ex-officio​ ​FYP ​n/a n/a​
​Mike Edwards ex-officio FYP​ n/a​ n/a​
(​Vacant) ex-officio ​NSFE ​n/a ​n/a